Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Maine Rules of the Road

Did you know that Maine law requires a headlight and tail light visible to up to 500 feet? Did you know that riders under 16 are required to wear a helmet and may be subject to a $25 fine if they fail to do so? (But it's always a good idea of every cyclist, of course!)

The Bicycle Coalition of Maine has a great one-pager that outlines all the basic stuff. Check it out here. Before all rides, it is very important that participants understand how to safely and legally ride in roads. Riding in a straight line is difficult for many younger kids, and traffic can be intimidating even for the most seasoned rider -- if you ever feel unsafe, it's always ok to step off your bicycle and "become a pedestrian".

And here's a great road safety video (especially for our ride chaperones!), produced by the League of American Bicyclists. Included is the ABC Quick Check, a tool we often use for making sure bikes are safe to ride:

No comments:

Post a Comment